Newton Park and Conservation Lands
Mary Hunnewell Fyffe Footbridge
LOCATION: Newton Lower Falls and Wellesley
Park on Washington St. in front of Gregorian Rugs. Enter a pathway (indicated by a stone marker) next to the Gregorian parking lot. (The lot is reserved for customers; use on-street parking.)
Other maps and aerial
photos: Newton Assessor Bing
SIZE: several acres
LONGEST WALK: 0.1 miles (bridge is part of Wellesley's Charles River Path and the 16-mile Charles River Link Trail)
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: DCR
Dramatic views of Charles River rapids
contrast with peaceful, green riverbanks. Visitors can walk on a
long,rebuilt Victorian-style bridge just above the fast
flowing spillway, the falls, the millway, and the Cordingly Dam Fish Passage. Grassy sloping shorelines
and old mill buildings, now retrofitted for offices and residences,
maintain the feel of a significant site of early industry along
||A wooden footbridge built across the Charles.
in Victorian design.
||Rebuilt to replicate
the 1909 bridge. Dedicated to Mary Hunnewell Fyffe of Wellesley,
advocate of the Charles River. Acquired by the state from joint ownership
by Newton and Wellesley.
The recent history of the footbridge is recounted in the book, Walks in Wellesley.
Discover Historic Newton Lower Falls brochure
The bridge in 1906