Mary Hunnewell Fyffe Footbridge
Guidebook Section: West
Dramatic views of Charles River rapids contrast with peaceful, green riverbanks. Visitors can walk on a long, rebuilt Victorian-style bridge just above the fast flowing spillway, the falls, the millway, and the Cordingly Dam Fish Passage. Grassy sloping shorelines and old mill buildings, now retrofitted for offices and residences, maintain the feel of a significant site of early industry along the Charles.
Size: several acres
Longest Walk: 0.1 miles
Owner & Administrator Websites
First three photos shown here. Click a photo to view the complete slideshow or click here to browse the complete gallery.
A wooden footbridge built across the Charles.
Footbridge rebuilt in Victorian design.
Rebuilt to replicate the 1909 bridge. Dedicated to Mary Hunnewell Fyffe of Wellesley, advocate of the Charles River. Acquired by the state from joint ownership by Newton and Wellesley.
Charles River Walk, Historic Site
Newton Assessor’s Map ID: 42031 0005 and other parcels in Newton and Wellesley
The recent history of the footbridge is recounted in the book, Walks in Wellesley.